Image

This drink is one of my favorites that Christina Kuypers ever came up with. We had it on the menu for the month long Gwai Lo pop up last fall and it is one of those simple to make but complex to taste as long as it’s made properly.

We used 1.5oz El Dorado 12 year rum, .75oz. Cynar and .5oz. Amaro Montenegro. You stir it and then flame an orange cheek (which took me a few hours to remember how to do properly, I have it down now as I was demonstrating at my friend Wendy’s house last week in Ridgeway). Served straight up in a coupe, this is one of the least summer style drinks you will see on a drinks blog this summer. Deal with it.

I am at Tales of the Cocktail right now so come find me. I’ll be with the Sailor Jerry guys for a lot of the week, and otherwise, just look for the coaster.

