983598_10152972201845078_1798222768_n

We were in Mexico a few months ago, when I got back I had an e-mail in my inbox asking if I would be interested in making drinks at The Stop Night Market. Last year the event was such a hit that this year they held it over two nights. I was scheduled for night number two and was asked to come up with a cocktail using Meukow cognac.
If you aren’t aware, traditionally, cognac is associated with colder climates. Consumed after hearty meals in front of fires on bear skin rugs or sitting in terrifically ornate, throne-like chairs.  Working this delicious cognac into a summer time drink was a challenge.

IMAG1287

Meukow in particular is very oak heavy so mixing it with other spirits works well, but going juicy is not so simple. When we were in Mexico in April, though, I remembered Jamaica (ha-MIKE-ah) being a floral, bitter syrup that was added to soda or water to make a nice refreshing drink but with some round character to it. BINGO! I made 5 litres of syrup using dried Jamaica flowers and added some lemon juice and a healthy dose of cognac. There we are, a lemonade, but not over sweet or sour and nicely rounded by the afformentioned woodsy overtones. When the event was over (we ran out in about an hour and 15 minutes) I had about 3 litres of the syrup left over, so we ran it as a special at Bar Isabel and we ran out there too. I guess I found a winner. Even though I never properly came up with a name. After the night market myself and a handful of friends headed to Pharmacy where some of my best friends, got very creative with my coasters.

IMG_20130619_231329 IMG_20130619_231504 IMG_20130619_231629

A few other things:

1. The new Black Sabbath record is not bad. I had my doubts about it, but it sounds like pretty classic sabbath, just with modern production.

2. I am planning on doing some more competitions in the next little while.

3. If you work for a liquor company and need a hand at any of your events, please call me.

4. I am just stocking up on bar supplies to start running my beginners course on a regular basis. If you are (still) interested, hit me up.

