Another Shrub Recipe!

This particular shrub I have decided to refer to as a light shrub, in that the process involves making a flavoured water (some people in the UK and British Colonies, and in the Far East would call this “tea” but I associate that with beer at the … wait, I almost gave away my favorite cold tea spot. Sorry to all the cops reading this, you won’t catch an adult imbibing legal products at an hour deemed unlawful by the province of Ontario, not this time) and souring it with vinegar. As opposed to a heavy shrub which is more my method, that involves taking a fruit or root or spice and boiling it in vinegar, then adding a smaller measure of sugar.

So if you weren’t aware, I posted one of these recipes awhile ago before my bar tour stop at La Carnita (I’m not doing a blog entry for that one. It  just happened too long ago and I can’t really remember it well enough to do it justice. Just go eat and drink at there, great people doing the right thing, with a lot of heart and a little luck) and a bunch of people contacted me to tell me it was a good one, This particular shrub was for a competition that my mentor and BFF Christina Kuypers was invited to by the Ontario Culinary and Tourism Association. The drink fucking rules so we put it on the list for the GwaiLo Popup as well (The drink is called a Normandier, if you’re curious). Here goes:

1. Put on your Halloween playlist, set to shuffle. It’s spookier that way.. (I made this shrub a few weeks ago, sorry I have been ignoring my blog)

2. Prep your allspice, ginger, cloves, anise and cinnamon

Image

Theme from Psycho
Theme from The Shining
Welcome To My Nightmare- Alice Cooper
Sound Effects- Footsteps
20 Eyes- Misfits
Sound Effects- Man Falling off a cliff

3. Measure out your water

Image
Master Of Puppets- Apocalyptica

4. Add your spices to your water and bring to a boil.
Running With The Devil- Van Halen (not Van Hagar)
Sound Effects- Torture Chamber
Ressurection Waltz (Hellraiser Score)
Halloween- The Misfits

Image

5. Once boiled, simmer spices and water for about 30 minutes
N.I.B.- Black Sabbath
Hallowed Be Thy Name- Cradle Of Filth
Devil Went Down To Georgia- Charlie Daniels
Hells Bells- AC/DC
Sound Effects- Haunted Forest
Satan is Real- Hank III

666. Kill! The heat.

There is no point in keeping the playlist thing going while you wait for it to cool. I suggest you read either Treat Me LIke Dirt or Perfect Youth. Both are amazing historically questionable accounts of toronto/canadian punk rock. I am about 150 pages into both. Scatterbrain.

Speaking of which while I waited for mine to cool, I went and worked at the Toronto Underground Market with my pals from Tromba Tequila. I made something like 900 drinks in 2 hours or so.

Image

When I got home Saturday Night Live was on and Bill Heder was really funny.

7. Strain out all the spices and ginger. Keep them, you’re gonna need them. Does ginger count as a spice?

Image

8. Add apple cider vinegar and sugar. Stir until you get a velvety look. Glossy, like, well, like a pot full of sugar, vinegar and “tea”. Here I suggest you take off your shirt, because sometimes you splash on yourself, even when you are really careful and you wouldn’t want to wreck your Drunk Hussy shirt. Also, shirts are for chumps. (Does anyone have fingers that fit in these bottles?)

Image

Image

9. Now add half of your spices to a jar (or 3 depending on how much of the shrub you need, we needed like 4.3 litres for this comp). Let the jar(s) sit in the fridge (or sealed outdoors if you have a space safe from raccoons and the low is around 4 degrees).

Image

10. Strain this again, and return to the jar. You are all set.

Image

Again, the drink is called a Normandier. You add this shrub to some cider and some calvados and some angostura bitters and then you drink it and wish it was the only thing you had ever had in your mouth. And we have it on the list at GwaiLo Popup. Gwailo.ca and 416 489 8922 for resos.

See you soon kiddies.