Hey!

For this month, one of my cocktails (which is featured on the GwaiLo Pop-Up List) is also on the menu at Origin on King. The drink is called the Paper Crane. It is based on the modern classic, the Paper Plane. Only I subbed in Mekhong, a thai whiskey (though I think it comes from sugar cane, which would make it closer to a rum or cachaca, no?) in place of bourbon.

If you order this drink at Origin three dollars will be donated to the Toronto People With AIDS Foundation. You can find out more about them here.

The drink goes as follows

Equal Parts:
Mekhong
Aperol
Amaro Nonino
Lemon Juice

Shake it and serve it straight up, or on rocks if you like. But be careful about leaving it on ice for too long, amari tend to get more bitter the more they dilute. (I figured that out while making The Velvet Glove, one of Christina Kuypers‘ inventions that you will also find on the Gwailo Pop-Up list). You can make it as strong as you want, but I’m big on a 3/4oz. measure.

Image
I swear I will be posting more on this thing in the next few weeks. Keep checking it out. Also, when you are done having a drink at Origin, call 416 489 8922 to make a reservation for the Gwai Lo Pop-Up at Sen5es at the SoHo Metropolitan hotel. We’re only there until the 24th.

