jbs-Palmetto

This is a Palmetto. A tiny one. I first learned about this drink last year at Tales Of The Cocktail on Tour in Vancouver. I like it in this capacity, as a digestif. I attended one of the “spirited dinners” that the Tales people put together, but instead of being a weasel (see: professional) I chose to sit at the bar and hang out with Steve the then bartender at The Waldorf and learn as much as I could about tiki. This was the last drink that I remember having and then I lost my hoody on the walk back to my friend Lana’s house. Professional. To be brutally honest, for this photo I used a Rum Agricole and it was pretty bad, so I suggest sticking with a more traditional cane rum. Here is a picture I took at The Waldorf.

IMAG0012In it you can see Steve and the hoody that made that hook it’s home forever.
Also, please go vote for me as Toronto’s Hottest Bartender. Every vote counts for a dollar toward the Toronto People With AIDS Foundation. So it’s a few seconds for a good cause, neh, a GREAT cause. If I make it to the top 5 I have to come up with a cocktail for the big coronation ceremony (see: piss up) at the Drake on the 25th Then I can make that drink a drink of the week. See how I tied that together there?

The photo of the tiny Palmetto was taken by Jessica Blaine Smith